Tags

, , , ,

I think my handwriting is pretty clear.  Even if it weren’t, it would seem like an S looks a lot different than an L, right?

Apparently not to whoever sorted our college orientation t-shirts!  I had my orientation a few weeks ago, and am pretty sure I wrote down a small as my size.  However, I got a large.  Must have been fate though, because I made a custom fitting, ribbon-accented t-shirt from that mistake.  I’m excited to wear this at convocation next semester!

Here’s how I did this fabulous refashion.

1.  I laid the shirt out flat and traced the outline of a well-fitting t-shirt on it, matching up the necklines.  Then I cut off the sleeves and the bottom of the t-shirt along my chalk lines.  (Apologies for lack of a before pic!)

Chopping sleeves....

Chopping sleeves….

.....and hem!

…..and hem!  (I turned the shirt inside out for this part, too, since I knew I would need to later.  I redid the chalk on the inside, see?)

2.  Next, I pinned along my chalk lines.  At this point, I was still planning to just take the shirt in.  But then I got the side-accent idea.  I was originally going to use the lace in the pic below.  However, I cut the shirt off a little bit inside my chalk lines (not a good idea), so it would’ve been a tight squeeze — none too flattering.  I opted for the wider ribbon instead.

Also, I was neglectful in my picture taking for this post, and I forgot to take a pic of the sleeve shape.  All I did was cut along the chalk lines I had already traced.

20130630-215849.jpg

 

3.  Third, I sewed the bottom of the sleeves shut!  So at this point, the front and back of the shirt were connected only by the sleeves and neckline.

The bottom of the sleeves are sewn shut now.

The bottom of the sleeves are sewn shut now.

4.  Now came the fun part.  I eyeballed a measurement of ribbon, allowing for extra just in case.  I pinned and sewed the ribbon to one of my open side seams, hiding the ribbon’s raw edge at the bottom.

I pinned and sewed the ribbon to the front so that the seam would eventually be on the inside of the shirt.

I pinned and sewed the ribbon to the front so that the seam would eventually be on the inside of the shirt.

Then I just had to do that to both sides, which meant sewing four seams: two for each side of the shirt.

This is one finished side -- two seams for the two sides of the ribbon.

This is one finished side — two seams for the two sides of the ribbon.

5.  Now all that was left was to close up these holes in the sleeves:

See my scissors sticking through the hole?

See my scissors sticking through the hole?

All I did to fix hat was to pin and sew the shirt in an upside down V to the extra ribbon at the top.

20130630-215929.jpg

Pictures make things much clearer, don't they?

Pictures make things much clearer, don’t they?

All done!  Now I have a perfectly fitted, completely unique convocation t-shirt.  So excited to wear this in the fall!  If you have any questions, leave a comment!  🙂

Finished product!

Finished product!

See how I sewed up the hole under the sleeve?

See how I sewed up the hole under the sleeve?

